WebSci10. Raleigh, North Carolina, 26 & 27 April 2010.

Web Science Conference 2010


Prizes for Best Paper and Best Poster have been awarded. Best paper was chosen by taking nominations from selected attendees, not associated with individual papers, with a final decision taken by the programme committee. Best poster was selected by the attendees themselves through an anonymous vote.

Best Paper went to Panagiotis Metaxas and Eni Mustafaraj for their paper From Obscurity to Prominence in Minutes: Political Speech and Real-Time Search. The two other nominess were the paper by Harry Halpin, Andy Clark and Michael Wheeler entiled "Towards a Philosophy of the Web: Representation, Enaction, Collective Intelligenceand" the paper by Knud Möller, Michael Hausenblas, Richard Cyganiak, Gunnar Grimnes and Siegfried Handschuh entiled "Learning from Linked Open Data Usage: Patterns & Metrics".

Best Poster went to Balthasar Schopman and colleagues (Dan Brickly, Lora Aroyo, Chris van Aart, Vick Buser, Annelies Kaptein, Roland Schijvenaars, Ronald Siebes, Lyndon Nixon, Libby Miller, Veronique Malaise, Michele Minno, Michele Mostarda, Davide Palmisano and Yves Raimond). The poster was entitled NoTube: Making Personalized TV Part of the Web.

Congratulations to the winners and all the other presenters at WebSci10 for making the conference stimulating and enjoyable.


Our second Web Science conference will overlap with WWW2010 which is also being held in Raleigh and once again we seek papers that demonstrate the development, scope, and relevance of the emerging field of Web Science.


Web Science is concerned with the full scope of socio-technical relationships that are implicated in the World Wide Web, and is thus inherently interdisciplinary.  It is based on the notion that understanding the Web involves not only an analysis of its architecture and applications, but also insight into the people, organizations, policies, and economics that are affected by and subsumed within it.


This conference embraces physical and social science drawing on computer and engineering sciences, sociology, economics, political science, law, management geography and psychology. Web Science 2010 brings these disciplines together in creative and critical dialogue and crosses traditional disciplinary boundaries.


Invited speakers will be Jennifer Chayes (Microsoft Research, Boston) and Melissa Gilbert (Temple University, Philadelphia) and Sir Tim Berners-Lee (MIT).


  • Twitter Tag: #websci10
  • Flickr Tag: websci10

Follow Us


Linked Data

Some of the information on this site is also available as RDF.

The URI for the Web Science Conference 2010 is: http://www.websci10.org/WebSci10

© 2009,2010 WebSci10