Specialist Advisory Group for Languages

The purpose of the Languages Specialist Group is to advise on the learning and teaching needs of their area, and on promoting and developing co-operation, innovation and good practices.

Convening the Group

The Chair of the Languages Group is Vicky Wright, who is responsible to the Director for establishing and maintaining the Group, as well as providing advice and recommendations on a programme of activities in the subject area. The Group is supported by Angela Gallagher-Brett (Academic Coordinator for Languages) who is responsible for ensuring that the Groups' programme of activities is implemented effectively.

Members of the Group and their specialisms

  • Charles Alderson, Lancaster University, Assessment
  • Ulrike Bavendiek, University of Liverpool, German
  • Edith Esch, University of Cambridge, Independent Learning
  • John Gillespie, University of Ulster, Ulster CETL
  • Shirley Jordan, Oxford Brookes University, Residence Abroad
  • Michelle Laufer, University of Westminster, Language Centres
  • Emma Marsden, University of York, Education
  • Keith Marshall, CILT Cymru, Statistics
  • Teresa Birks, CILT, the National Centre for Languages, Higher Education Adviser
  • David Nott, Lancaster University, Language Teaching Methodology
  • Marta Nunez, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, Assessment/External Examining
  • Linda Parker, Association for Language Learning, Secondary Languages
  • Cristina Ros I Sole, University College London, SOAS-UCL CETL
  • John Russell, University of Bradford, Russian
  • Lesley Shield, Open University, Technology