Realising the European HE Area

News summary

Communiqué of the Conference of Ministers responsible for Higher Education in Berlin on 19 September 2003

In 1999 the ministers responsible for HE in 29 countries signed the Bologna Declaration. They agreed on joint objectives for the development of a European HE Area by 2010. In September 2003, ministers from 33 countries met to review the program and set new objectives for the coming years.

The Berlin Communiqué is available at . The importance of linguistic diversity is stressed twice, on pages 2 and 6.

Further reading: The Bologna Declaration: an explanation